Beyond the Classroom

Coral Reef 2021 Awards Ceremony


  • Visit our Clubs page for more information.



Class Information

Class of 2022

Sponsor: Mrs. Rebecca Santalo

Senior Class Officers
Senior Class Sponsor – Mrs. Santalo
President – Dominique Echague
VP – Daniela Velasquez
Secretary – Sophia Arguello
Treasurer- Jaimie Bosch and Amanda Ruiz
Historian – Mia-Isabella Reyes
Executive Advisor – Kate Schimkat

Student Government Association 
Student Government Association Sponsor – Mrs. Santalo
President – Marco Villamizar
VP – Daniella Paneque
Secretary – Melanie Ramirez
Treasurer – Arianna De Armas
Project Manager – Gabriella Santos
Historian- Juliette Rivera and Emma Oliveras 
Academy Liaison – Kassandra Diaz
Event Coordinator – Samantha Perez

Class of 2023

Sponsor: Ms. Ashley Latham

Junior Class Officers
Junior Class Sponsor – Ms. Latham
President-  Jacqueline Perez
VP – Jordan Cancel
Secretary – Christina Hernandez 
Treasurer – Juliana Castillo
Historian – Amanda Clegg
Junior SGA Liaison – Kelli Ferguson

Class of 2024

Sponsor: Ms. Yliuska Mayor

Sophomore Officers
Sophomore Class Sponsor- Ms. Mayor
President – Armando Ruiz
VP -IK Osaghae
Secretary – Joseline Vasquez
Treasurer – Katelyn Pena
Historian – Aaliyah Carlos 

Class of 2025

Sponsor: Ms. Maria Corrales

Freshmen Officers 
Freshmen Class Sponsor – Ms. Corrales

Silver Knights

The Miami Herald Silver Knight Awards is one of the nation’s most highly regarded student awards programs. The purpose of this Awards program is to recognize outstanding students who have not only maintained good grades but have also unselfishly applied their special knowledge and talents to contribute significant service to their schools and communities. The Silver Knight Awards program was instituted at the Miami Herald in 1959 by John S. Knight, past publisher of the Miami Herald, founder and editor emeritus of Knight-Ridder Newspapers and 1968 Pulitzer Prize winner.

The program is open to high school seniors with a minimum 3.2 GPA (unweighted) in public, private, and parochial schools in Miami-Dade and Broward counties. Students may be nominated in 15 categories: Art, Athletics, Business, Drama, English & Literature, General Scholarship, Journalism, Mathematics, Music and Dance, New Media, Science, Social Science, Speech, Vocational-Technical and World Languages. Each school may nominate one student per category.  The application process is one that entails a written application, evidence pages (i.e. scrapbook), and an interview where independent judges for each category selects one Silver Knight and three Honorable Mentions.  Names are not revealed until the Silver Knight Awards ceremony.  Silver Knights receive $2,000, a Silver Knight statue and a medallion presented by American Airlines.  The three Honorable Mentions are presented $500 and an engraved plaque.

For more information, please click on the website below:

If you have any questions please email Ms. Ortiz at

2020-2021 Coral Reef’s Silver Knight Nominees

Student NameAcademyCategory
Jalynn McDuffeyVPAArt
Paloma VigilIBAthletics
Alexandra RuizBusinessBusiness
Emanuel CasasEngineeringDigital & Interactive Media
Paul TuatyVPADrama
Sophia SalamancaIBEnglish & Literature
Ana BritoIBGeneral Scholarship
Kami BumpersBusinessJournalism
Alysa EnglehardtIBMathematics
Isabella MenendezVPAMusic & Dance
Valeria WestringIBScience
Katherine MesaMedicalSocial Science
Alexander ChineaIBSpeech
Adriana RoqueMedicalVocational Technical
Klara DavidsonIBWorld Languages